SASP Culturally Specific Program

Program Overview


SASP Culturally Specific Program

The Sexual Assault Services Program (SASP) was created by VAWA  2005, and is the first federal funding stream dedicated solely to direct intervention and related assistance for victims of sexual assault. SASP encompasses four different funding streams for states and territories: tribes; tribal organizations and nonprofit tribal organizations; state, territorial, and tribal sexual assault coalitions; and culturally specific organizations.

The primary purpose of the Sexual Assault Services Culturally Specific Grant Program (SASP-CS) is to establish, maintain, and expand sustainable sexual assault services provided by culturally specific organizations. Grantees are nonprofit organizations that focus primarily on culturally specific communities and have experience in the area of sexual assault, or who partner with an organization having such expertise. They provide intervention, advocacy, accompaniment (e.g. accompanying victims to court, medical facilities, and police departments), support services, and related assistance for adult, youth, and child victims of sexual assault; non-offending family and household members of victims; and those collaterally affected by sexual assault.

Progress Reporting Update

January – June 2024 Period

As before, SASP-CS grantees will report their progress using a fillable PDF form that can be downloaded from this website (click on “Reporting form” below). Please submit the completed form as an attachment in your JustGrants account by the July 30, 2024, deadline. For guidance on how to do that, please see the JustGrants website’s Training: Performance Reporting page.

Reporting Tools